About IIT Roorkee

The Institute which began as the Thomason College of Civil Engineering in1847, became the University of Roorkee in 1949 and has been declared as the 7th Indian Institute of Technology in 2001. The college came into existence because of a pressing need for civil engineers to build the "Ganga Canal", which would provide irrigation facilities to the entire North West provinces. The institute has had illustrious people associated with it both as faculty members as well as our alumni. Our alumni boasts of Victoria Cross awardees, Knighted people, Padma Bhushan and Padma Vibhushan awardees. From Mekong valley in Thailand, to Lar dam in Iran, to Bhakra Nangal dam in India itself, the community of IIT Roorkee has made significant contributions. The institute boasts of the largest number of academic departments (19) and research centers (27) among all technical institutions in India. We were the first to start postgraduates programmes in engineering and have the largest number of specialisations and super specialisations at Master's level (53).


The Indian Institute of Technology Roorkee is situated in the newly formed state of Uttaranchal in the northern part of India. This small town is about 186 kms north east of the national capital, New Delhi, 71 kms from the state capital, Dehradun, 32 kms from the holy city, Hardwar, 45 kms from Saharanpur (UP) and about 120 kms from the Queen of Hills, Mussoorie. Roorkee is situated in the foothills of the Himalayas. Roorkee is well connected by rail to New Delhi, Dehradun, Hardwar and a number of other major cities of India. The Superfast Dehradun Shatabdi Express from New Delhi Railway Station to Dehradun passes via Roorkee on all days.

For more information visit ( Information taken from authentic information brochure.)